Carole Nash
Content Writer
Published: 28th July 2012

Jorge Lorenzo became the victor of pole positions at Laguna Seca today, after stealing top spot in the dying seconds of qualifying.

Jorge Lorenzo Laguna

Earlier practice sessions had suggested Dani Pedrosa would be the man to beat, however as qualifying took place it was a battle between Lorenzo and Casey Stoner that caught the attention. In the final minutes it was a the record breaking pace of the Yamaha rider that gave him a pole position start, whilst Stoner slotted into second place. After his earlier fast paced performances, Pedrosa set the third fastest time as the qualifying session came to a close, to also complete the first row of the grid.

Ben Spies continued a strong run for Yamaha at the sharp end of the grid with a fourth place start, as the American gets set to head row two. Spies endured a heavy crash in the closing stages of qualifying, however after walking away he managed to rejoin for the final few laps, as he attempted to hassle the front row of the grid. Cal Crutchlow and Andrea Dovizioso, also riders of Yamaha machines, will complete an all Yamaha second row of the grid.

Alvaro Bautista secured a seventh place start from the third row of the grid, with Nicky Hayden and Stefan Bradl alongside him. Hayden’s Ducati teammate Valentino Rossi will start from tenth place after another difficult outing. The top CRT position went the way of Randy De Puniet on the Power Electronic Aspar machine, who narrowly missed out on a top ten start in eleventh place.

Qualifying Positions, MotoGP, Laguna Seca:

Pos. Rider Nation Team Time
1 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing 1’20.554
2 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team 1’20.628
3 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team 1’20.906
4 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing 1’21.094
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’21.268
6 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’21.539
7 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini 1’21.732
8 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team 1’21.734
9 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP 1’21.753
10 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team 1’22.544
11 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar 1’22.886
12 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar 1’23.075
13 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1’23.699
14 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing 1’23.704
15 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Avintia Blusens 1’23.769
16 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini 1’23.877
17 Toni ELIAS SPA Pramac Racing Team 1’23.898
18 Mattia PASINI ITA Speed Master 1’24.017
19 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project 1’24.227
20 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens 1’24.560
21 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport 1’24.715
Steve RAPP USA Attack Performance 1’26.887