Carole Nash
Content Writer
Published: 15th June 2015

After a week of ups and downs, with plenty of delays to the race schedule, Friday – the final day of this year’s TT – got off to a flying start with the bright and early Lightweight TT.

Ivan Lintin clinched the title just four seconds ahead of James Hillier. It was to be Lintin’s first TT win, whereas Hillier had to be content with setting a 120.848mph lap record. The pair both saw off challenges for their podium positions from Ryan Farquhar and Lee Johnson, who retired in the second and final laps respectively.

But the main action of the day was in the Senior TT – easily the season’s most hotly-contested competition. The race got off to a bad start after Jamie Hamilton was involved in a serious accident after the first lap – just after the Cronk-y-Voddy straight. The race was stopped while Hamilton was airlifted to hospital, where it was announced he had suffered serious – but not life-threatening – injuries. We wish him all the best for his recovery.

Ian Hutchinson had been leading the race at the time of the crash, but his winning streak was interrupted until 2:45pm when the race got underway again, reduced to just four laps instead of six. John McGuinness used the do-over to his advantage, and roared out in the lead, ultimately smashing Brice Anstey’s former lap speed record with a blistering 132.701mph average speed.

As McGuinness pulled ahead, Hutchinson began to lag behind – dropping back to third, with James Hillier earning his second silver finish of the day.

McGuinness’s win earned him his seventh Senior victory, tying the previous all-time record held by Mike Hailwood, and brought yet another year of thrilling TT action to a close. Here’s to 2016!